A Moment of Peace

I love walking. I’m one of those people who can walk for miles – with some music or company or even without all that. I like to walk leisurely. No hurrying to get somewhere, no worried frown, nothing. I walk because I love to. And I usually walk the 20-30 minutes from the bus interchange near my place to my house everyday. Somedays I listen to some music. Somedays I chat with TS and catch up on our day and somedays I just walk. The other day, I was on my way back home. It was a Friday and I was happy and looking forward to the weekend. I was also a little irritated about the roadworks that were happening on the way to my apartment which meant I had to take a detour. It was hot and humid and I was sweating bucketloads. And all I wanted was to get home as soon as possible and take a shower and grab a carton of cold orange juice. I had music blaring in my ears and a frown on my face.
And all of a sudden, out of the blue, in the midst of all these thoughts and the traffic and the din, I felt this one moment of absolute silence inside me. One moment of absolute peace. I practically stopped in my tracks and took a deep breath. It was like in that one moment I was in some other place. Somewhere peaceful and quiet and tranquil. Someplace where I had no worries. there were no thoughts in my head and I was at peace. And suddenly, I felt better. I didn’t feel so hot anymore. I wasn’t pissed about the detour I had to take. There weren’t any lists running around in my head. I was just enjoying the walk and that was it.
IĀ  don’t know what it was that made me feel that way or why I felt that way but it made me feel better. It made me stop thinking about everything else. It made me quit cribbing and just focus on the moment. Just focus on the walk and the sights and the music in my ears and not worry about anything else. I reached home happier and feeling much better than how I had felt when I left for office in the morning. Maybe it was the Universe telling me to take a “chill pill” or maybe it was my own subconsious telling me to stop driving it crazy with all my thinking. šŸ˜› I don’t know. All I know is every time I think about that moment now, I feel calmer, more centered and much more focussed on the present than anything else. šŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

